July 5, 2013

  • Involuntarily “Facebooked” – Help!

    Someone’s well meaning but ill informed mother signed her son up for Facebook, using my email instead of whatever his was supposed to be. I know this because I got an intro message from Facebook with a message from her telling me what she did.

    Facebook was asking me to click on a link to confirm my membership which I did not do, thinking that would take care of things. It didn’t. whatevah

    As a result of this mistaken “sign-up” I keep receiving email notifications of “friend” requests,notifications, confirmations, etc…, along with anniversary, b-day, “friends of friends I may know” updates, and so on and so forth ad nauseam.

    I never joined Facebook due to identity theft concerns (working in IT security makes you extra aware/sensitive of these threats), but it sure seems annoying to be getting “updates” from all these folks. This is why we have reunions and meet ups people – so we can catch up the old fashioned way instead of putting it all out there on a real-time basis.

     

    Does anyone know of a way to break a false email link in such a circumstance?

     

Comments (8)

  • wow, that is so interesting. i have never heard of such things!! but yea i guess its possible, bc fb doesnt even confirm your new account and email by emailing you an activation link or anything.

    email facebook about it? can you contact this fb user and let him know that hes using your email?

  • It’s possible that because you have his email, you can log into the account and ask that the user change the email to the proper one. It’s a rash way of doing things, but it /will/ get the job done.

    I’m still struggling with a lady who believes she can be contacted via my email, which is not the case at all…

  • Isnt there always a “This isn’t me” link in thise emails? Lucky you, getting friends without even trying!! ;)

  • @rxglasshalffull - @youngvan - @youngvan - @consignedhearts111 - Looks like I may have to “risk” confirming membership by clicking on a contact link to let them know.

    But talk about security risk- I can see everything in that group that added me as a friend, so if a stranger poses as someones “friend” or “relative”, they would have a snoop/stalk field day and no one would even know.

  • Ignoring Facebook is easy, but what if Facebook comes looking for you? Resistance is futile, and kinda silly… Facebook will have you… Oh yes, it will have you

  • That’s weird. But I’d never want to go without facebook. Facebook saves me from having to actually meet up with people to get to know them or to catch up. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

  • This happened to me some long time ago. IIRC I pressed that “This isn’t me” link.
    Contacting admins really isn’t an option. I don’t think their admins want to listen to anyone.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *