July 11, 2013

  • Yet another Soullfire Blog

    I mentioned the existence of an earlier “Soulfire” whose blogging career here began and ended a few years before I started. I also mentioned another “Soulfire”, “XxSoulfirexX”, that was on friends lock. Don’t know either of those two….

    But there is yet another “Soullfire” – “SoullfireII” to be exact, whom I “do” know. 

     

    An evil twin from a parallel universe? A very unoriginal blogger? My back up copy of this blog in case of a system crash?

     

    Answer: None of the above…

     

    It’s another site I have. It’s not a “secret site” as I’ve mentioned it a few times over the years- easy to miss over an influx of business/trading posts.

    It’s intent was to be the yin to “Soullfire’s” yang. Whereas Soullfire was business heavy, SoullfireII was intended to be a bit more personable.

    The idea was when writing on Soullfire, I’d try to be more general since it’s an open blog and I have no idea whose reading. Worse case scenario- office peeps know my alias and have been secretly reading for years. That’s why there were never any specific work related gripes, haha. Not that SoullfireII is all emo and stuff- that’s just not my style. cool Just less generic.

    Of course time being limited, Soullfire dominated most of my blogging time and not as much went to SoullfireII. As a matter of fact, SoullfireII got so little attention, that I never upgraded it when Xanga offered the “new at the time” themes page format. So it’s like looking into the past…

     

     

    With time winding down on Xanga 1.0 and the “edict” that non premium accounts will likely be erased, it made me think of all those with alternate blogs that will also be getting the axe.

     

    Don’t forget to backup/archive all your blogs – including your “secret” ones, haha. laughing

     

     

Comments (7)

  • So my blog will be erase unless I join and pay for the new xanga? Someone told me every blog was going to be converted to xanga 2.0. Thexangateam needs to come out forward and let everyone know what’s really going on >.<

  • @summereque - From what I’ve learned, here’s their plan:1) All user accounts will be moved, not all blogs, meaning everyone will be able to log in and will be able to keep their sub and friend lists, but their blogs may not be preserved.2) These are the blogs slated to be preserved (moved over and not erased):A) All those who pay the $48 pledge amount or higherB) All who are current premium membersC) All who signed up for premium membership in the past (need not be current premium)D) As many “True” members as they can (depending on space)Any blog not meeting one of these criteria is likely to be erased if/when the move to 2.0 happens.

  • I have one secret blog only and it’s on Xanga :P  

  • @SoullFire - So, by me only being a free user, my user name, password, friends, and subscribers stay in tact but not my blogs? What’s the point?

  • @MichellelyNg - Be sure to make a back up so it won’t a a “lost” secret! @RealistMe - If you’ve been member for an extended time, the friend/sub list would be a good way to keep in touch with folks, since you’d still have use of private messaging. Since everyone isn’t relocating to the same platform, the disruption of having to blog elsewhere would be less.

  • @SoullFire - Okay because I don’t think I’ve archived my blogs. It doesn’t seem like most my Xangan friends and subscribers are on here to read them anymore, anyway. I was planning on deleting them, since I already have those same blogs on Blogster. 

  • I need multiple blogs, with varying levels of privacy, with the less personal ones being open to a wider audience. On my other site I used your idea and traded credits for premium. However, I don’t have enough credits for this account, so I will have to kiss it goodbye.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *